MEMSA Innovation and Manufacturing Awards

As MEMSA, we are well aware of the innovation capacity of our members – with RDI continuing through the challenges of the past two years and seek to highlight this capacity both locally and in international markets. Our inaugural Innovation Awards are therefore aimed at championing this pioneering spirit and will ensure entrants gain exposure in renowned Creamer Media’s industry publications and other industry related publications and websites, as well as on and across our social media channels.

The award categories for excellence in innovation are: 

  • Hard Rock Mining Equipment – The Navin Singh Award
  • Soft Rock Mining Equipment
  • Mining Infrastructure and Mineral Processing
  • Safer, Healthier Mining
  • Improved Productivity
  • Digital Integration in Mining Equipment
  • Emerging or Small Enterprise

Click here to access the user-friendly, succinct ENTRY FORM (link) which has been designed to negate the need for lengthy submissions. Entries will be judged by a panel of independent and expert judges.

Closing Date: 28 February 2022.

**Our thanks go to Wits Director of Innovation Strategy Professor Barry Dwolatzky and RTIMS programme manager Jean-Jacques Verhaeghe assisted in developing the award entry form.

FYI! 2022 will also see the launch of our Manufacturing Awards that will showcase South African mining manufacturing companies that excel in the planning and implementation of key aspects of competitive manufacturing.

Designed to recognise innovation and manufacturing excellence in the South African mining equipment cluster, awards will be presented in the following categories:


  • Customer Service Excellence 
  • Ossie Carsens Award
  • Excellent Productivity
  • Excellent Support for People and Skills
  • Environmental Impact Management
  • Smart Factory
  • Supplier Development

These awards are currently being finalised and entry details and a date for the awards ceremony will be announced in early 2022.

**Participation Criteria: The Manufacturing and Innovation Awards competition recognises excellence in South African manufacturers and as such 26% South African ownership is required for participation.