Innovation Awards

As MEMSA, we are well aware of the innovation capacity of our members – with RDI continuing through the challenges of the pandemic and seek to highlight this capacity both locally and in international markets. Our inaugural Innovation Awards was therefore aimed at championing this pioneering spirit and ensuring entrants gained exposure in renowned Creamer Media’s industry publications and other industry related publications and websites.

The award categories for excellence in innovation were: 

  • Innovation in Hard Rock Mining – the Navin Singh Award, awarded to Hydro Power Equipment (HPE) for the development of the Isidingo Drill and Drill Guide
  • Innovation in Soft Rock Mining, awarded to Rham Equipment for the development of Battery Electric driven LHD, Dump Truck and Land Cruiser
  • Innovation in Mineral Processing, awarded to AZMET Technology & Projects for the AZMET Cyanide Removal Process (AZ-CRP®) 
  • Innovation for Improved Productivity (with special mention for Data Integration), awarded to Hydropower Systems for the HV212 EOD Hydrovessel
  • Innovation for Safer, Healthier Mining, awarded to Mine Support Products for the Rocnet Modular Safety Net 
  • Innovation by an Emerging or Small Enterprise, awarded to Gravitas Minerals for the Optima Classifier™ 

Our thanks go to Wits Director of Innovation Strategy Professor Barry Dwolatzky and RTIMS Programme Manager Jean-Jacques Verhaeghe who assisted in developing the award entry form 
and served as judges.

Additional judges were Southern African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy former president Alastair Macfarlane, Minerals Council of South Africa and Mandela Mining Precinct Strategic Advisor Dick Kruger, and Martin Pretorius, Programme Manager for the Mechanised Mining Systems Programme at the Mandela Mining Precinct.

Through the competition process and recent engagements with members around safety and energy projects, it is clear that exciting innovations are happening across the cluster’s 
membership. This includes the development of different battery electric mining vehicles by members including Rham Equipment, Fermel (personel carrier) and Battery Electric (diesel 
locomotive conversion); innovations in explosive casings (NXCO); the development of trackless mining machinery suitable for mechanised mining methods, with sophisticated safety mechanisms; innovative hydro powered equipment; and data sensing devices and systems for better safety and productivity. 

Memsa looks forward to bringing more innovations to light in its upcoming 2023 Awards.